Welcome!

Hello to all of you! This is my first measly attempt at blogging so bear with me…and I mean like REALLY blogging and not just re-posting every other thing that I think is cool on Tumblr.

My main focus on this blog will be food. If you know me personally, you know that I LOVE food. I love to cook and there is nothing else in this world that I enjoy more than cooking/baking and sharing it with people.

Notice how I said “main focus” earlier….not only will you see my fabulous posts about food but there will definitely be posts of me bitching about random things and sharing personal things about my life with you.
Sooo, be ready to gag and hate me when I share stories about my wonderful partner in life, Brad.

I’m going to assume that those of you who are reading this, already know me in some way, shape or form. But for those of you that have stumbled across my page randomly and are wondering why the hell you are even spending your precious sleeping time reading this and wondering who the hell is this girl? Allow me to introduce myself and tell you a little bit more about why I am here.

My name is Lydia Mulligan. I am a 23 year old woman/child living in New Hampshire. I have a wonderful boyfriend named Brad and we live together with our son Sterling…he’s a cat. I have an amazing relationship with my parents and as time goes on…the more I appreciate all of the things that they have done and sacrificed for me. They have truly made me the woman I am today and I couldn’t be more proud to say that I am their daughter. I work full time, have a part-time restaurant job, sell Silpada jewelry (well, I TRY too HA) and in a month I will be going back to school for my Bachelors Degree. Can you tell I like to keep myself busy? I feel like I have a pretty awesome life but you can judge it for yourself, I guess. If I had to describe myself in a few words or explain what means the most to me, I would pick these 4 words….

– Love
– Loyalty
– Family
– Friendship
OH and FOOD, can’t forget the food!

So, food…I love all kinds of food but as of late, I am finding out that I am unable to eat whatever and however much I want and in doing so, it has caused me to have some pretty shitty side effects.

-Depression
-Anxiety (SOOO much fucking anxiety and anxiety attacks)
-Joint Pain
-Extreme Fatigue (I can’t hang like the cool kids anymore)
-Muscle Cramps
-Diarrhea (Gross, but it definitely happens)
-Bloating (feels like I’m on my period 24/7)
-Gaseousness, Flatulence (literally farting all the time…sorry Brad haha)
-Abdominal pain
-Headaches
-Fertility Problems & Irregular Menstrual Cycles

Last year I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) and that was one explanation as to why I had gained so much weight within the past couple of years (the other explanation is probably just me being a fat ass and not giving a fuck what I ate and how much I ate) . I’ve always had irregular periods but this time Brad was in the picture and when it missing for 4 months it freaked the both of us out because Brad and I were NOT planning on having a child after moving into a one bedroom apartment together. So after a series of tests and ultrasounds my OBGYN came back with this diagnosis of PCOS for me. Upon doing some research, I have found out that a lot of women who have PCOS have tried Gluten Free diets and have reversed some of their side effects and have also been able to lose weight along with moderate exercise. So I figured…why the heck not? What have I got to lose? I already feel like shit…can’t get much worse than this. And if anything….what happens if I start to feel better? That would be amazing and that is what I am hoping for. I will admit that I used to roll my eyes whenever I heard someone talking about being gluten free or asking if that blueberry muffin was GF…but maybe they were on to something and I’m pretty damn sure they are feeling 10x better than I am. So kudos to you gluten free peeps out there for taking care of yourselves because I clearly have not been doing that great of a job of taking care of myself.

My purpose for sharing all of this with you is that maybe it’ll help keep me in check and make me feel more obligated to stay on track so I CAN update you with how things are going and share with you. And, if someone came across this and was feeling just like me and needed to feel connected in order to get through the day; not feel like shit and felt some sort of relief while reading this and said to themselves, “Wow, I’m not the only one,” then I have fulfilled my purpose!

Here’s to new healthy beginnings! I am determined to be a thinner, healthier, more confident and happier Lydia in the next few months and hopefully in some way it can help you too…or you can just laugh at my pain and struggles…that’s fine too hahaha.

XOXO
Lydia

Please feel free to comment or connect with me!

8 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Hi kiddo. I’m a little curious about this gluten-free diet shit so as always I’ll be in the background here watching and listening.

    Like

    1. Sounds good, I’ve learned a bunch so far and will be sharing what I know with you! Your love and support means a ton to me. Hope your vacation was amazing! I saw some pics and the kids look so incredibly happy! I am so happy for you 🙂

      Like

  2. I think your blog is a great idea !it holds you countable for your goals and gives you the support you need to see yourself through it. Im very interested in gluten free myself especially since I have a wheat allergy and getting gluten out of my diet makes me feel better. Unfortunately i do not follow my gluten free diet as i get bored with it and not that much in love with cooking, so it will be interesting on what you come up with.

    Like

  3. Hey love ! So congrats on the blog sorry to hear about the health issues but as you know I found out a little over 3 yrs ago I have celiac so I’ve been gluten free ever since , if you ever want to get together to cook or have questions feel free to reach out 🙂 Its a hard transition but you will learn its worth all the sacrifices when you feel 1000xs better ! 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

