Chicken Gyros with Tzaziki

Happy Sunday folks!

Tonight I made some chicken gyros for dinner. This is one of my favorite recipes and it’s super easy! Everything about this recipe is naturally gluten free….EXCEPT for the pita bread. I found some gluten free pita bread in the frozen section made by Against the Grain and they weren’t that bad. Not as soft and fluffy as normal pita bread but that’s gluten free bread products in general for ya. I’ll add the recipe for home made pita bread for you too as well if you’re feeling up to making it! I however, was feeling quite lazy today and every single Sunday so I decided to give these lil pita pockets a try.

IMG_9280

Here’s what you’ll need to your marinate your chicken…

IMG_9271

MEAT

  • Chicken Tenders or Breast/Tenderloin
    (I use the chicken tenders because they’re easy to plop into your wrap and you don’t have to cut the chicken into smaller pieces.)

DAIRY

  • Plain Greek Yogurt (you don’t need a ton of yogurt, so grab a single serving in the dairy section. I like the Chobani and Oikos brand.)

OTHER

  • a few garlic cloves chopped up
    (I LOVE garlic so I tend to put a little bit more in my marinade)
  • 3 teaspoons of red wine vinegar (you can use white wine or apple cider vinegar if you don’t have any of the red wine vinegar handy.)
  • 1 & 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon juice (I usually eye ball this and squeeze a little more than half of a whole lemon)
  • 1 & 1/2 tablespoons of oregano
  • salt & pepper to taste

Gather all of that stuff up and throw it in a zip lock bag or a bowl and mix it up, add your chicken and then put it in the fridge for a couple hours.

IMG_9274

While that’s marinating you can cut up the veggies that will go on your pita wrap. A lot of people make their gyros differently and add different veggies so feel free to use whatever you’d like. I like to use

  • lettuce
  • red onion
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • red & green peppers

Dice everything up small and set it aside in the fridge to keep them chilled.

You will also need some feta cheese and Tzaziki sauce!

IMG_9283

If you’re feeling lazy like me, you can find some Tzaziki sauce in the dairy section near the cheese and dips. I find the Joseph’s brand more appetizing than Cedars, but they’re both pretty good. Tzaziki (click for recipe) sauce is just a blend of Greek yogurt, cucumbers, lemon juice, garlic, dill and spices. There are a bunch of other recipes that call for more ingredients so if you’re not feeling that recipe, know that there are other ones that you can try to make yourself.

Okay, so you’re ready to cook your chicken? Grab those bad boys out of the fridge and throw them on a hot cast iron griddle pan or a regular pan if you don’t have a griddle…use whatever you’re comfortable with! I like the griddle marks on the chicken hahaha! Those chicken tenders should take about 10 minutes to cook but keep an eye on them…sometimes it takes less time since they’re so small and thin. You don’t want to overcook them cause they’ll come out chewy and hard.

IMG_9282

One your chicken is done, you can assemble your gyro! Some people like to use foil to help keep all of the goodies inside the pita but I’m a slob with or without the foil helping me so I don’t even bother with the foil.

Grab your pita pocket, GF or not GF and spread a generous amount of Tzaziki sauce on it. Add your veggies and feta cheese and top it with a couple of your chicken tenders. BAM! You’re ready to stuff your face with delicious goodness.

IMG_9284

Oh! I almost forgot to tell you that I made truffle tots with the truffle oil I bought and posted about in my last post…but I’m assuming you already saw that in my picture above!

I bought some gluten free Ore-Ida tater tots, baked them in the oven and threw them in a bowl. I sprinkled some salt on them and drizzled some truffle oil and tossed them all around until everything was evenly distributed. They were AMAZING. Some people/restaurants add fries to their gyros and that’s how Brad like his so I made some fries separately for him.

Do whatever you want, tweak it how ever you want and enjoy it! Let me know how it turns out for you and if you tweaked anything to make it better for yourself! I’d love to hear how you made it your own and if you have any tips for me! Take pics! 🙂

Enjoy!

xoxo
Lydia

P.S. If you wanted to give the homemade Pita Bread a try…here’s a recipe you might like.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

